A new take on the Ending…

As I mentioned in my last post, I decided to try to alter the ending credits of Ultima IX so that they sport a more traditionnal musical instead of that terrible Electro track that butchers both Stones and the mood of the ending.

I am pleased to share the result:

I’ve used the Ultima IX rendition of Stones (taken from the same MP3 that was then offered on the Ultima IX website) and I basically extracted the original audio track of the video, cut the credits part and pasted this version in before reencoding the whole thing.

The downside is that the track comes a tad short, thus ending while the THX credits appears on screen. I’ve tried to make the opening of the track loop to make it a bit longer, but the result was not satisfactory. On the whole it works since it stops almost as it should – but if anyone feels he can do a better work, feel free to do so!

The good thing however is that I can confirm this works IN GAME by simply replacing the old video by the new one and the tone really fit the feeling of the ending. Hopefully fans will enjoy that!

In addition I also made another version, this time based on the Ultima Online 2 Stones MP3 – which was also a beautiful rendering by George Oldziey.

It’s certainly better than Electro track… but it just doesn’t feel quite as well as the other version IMO, probably because it wasn’t meant to be used in Ultima IX, while Oldziey’s Ultima IX remix was done to fit stylistically with the rest of the music.

So I hope you guys like it – and for those who’d like to try this in game Aiera will we hosting the MPEG fils of both version very soon (probably in a couple of days) and the Forgotten Worlds team has already expressed interest in integrating this altered video into their upcoming patches.

Neat heh?

I know already I’ll be replaying Ultima IX a couple of years when Forgotten Worlds will have released more fixes!

5 Comments

  1. gothalice said,

    June 29, 2013 at 6:55 am

    I’ve created my own rendering of Stones: https://soundcloud.com/gothalice/stones

    It’s a tad too short for the credits, though. 😉

  2. May 2, 2014 at 6:46 am

    […] that plays during the end credits for Ascension. To that end, he took it upon himself to release two alternate versions of the video file that includes the “good” endgame movie and the game’s credits, one of which uses […]

  3. Paul said,

    August 3, 2015 at 8:53 pm

    Hello there! I was very interested in using your alternate credits for UIX, so I downloaded your alternate endings from Youtube in mp4 format. I then changed it to the filename of goodendgame.dat as suggested, however UIX crashes when it comes to playing it, saying “Error playing movie … Cannot play back the file. The format is not supported.”

    Would you be able to advise how I can rectify this? I am very keen to use your versions!

  4. intrinsicdragon said,

    August 4, 2015 at 6:41 pm

    Ah thanks! The link is now active again on Ultima Codex. I wondered if maybe the format was slightly different on Youtube somehow.

    Your versions are fantastic for the final ending. Although I was current with the Ultima series with every game released at the time, when I got half way through U9 back in 1999 I thought it was so awful in relation to previous Ultimas I didn’t want it to spoil the Ultima series for me, so I never finished it. I have just now (15 years later) finished it for the first time, expecting disappointments throughout, and the music of the endgame sequence was no exception. Now I plan on replaying it with the “fan dialogue patch” to hopefully improve the story somewhat, along with the Beautiful Britannia mod and now your nicely edited endgame music. I’m looking forward to the culmination of the mods in one playing.

    I’m also trying to get hold of the “Back to Earth minimod” I have seen mentioned on the Forgotten World website, but have had no luck yet.

    I think I personally prefer your version with the UO2 music; it seems modern and unique while still being faithful, which goes along with the best of what UIX in general offers to its players so I feel it fits it well. I really like the original stones music, but for my tastes it is a tad too heart-wrenching and melancholic for me to listen to for the ending of the series, and also doesn’t altogether fit the feel of UIX for me as much as the other version. You’ve done excellent work with both though and I like listening to both.

    I also really like how detailed your blogs are on here, and how informative they are surrounding the backgrounds of the games.


Leave a Reply

