A pirate’s life I’m meant to be…

It’s amazing how much a simple boat can change one’s life…

I mean basically before getting a ship, Ultima II was an exercice in frustration: too many monsters to kill at once, food going down to fast, travel that Time Gate than ce annoying…

Getting a boat though almost feel like cheating, because the moment you get one in any of the eras, monsters are no longer a threat anymore. While you need to attack ennemis at one adjacent tile unlike in future games, most monsters are basically killed by one canon shot, giving you both gold and XP as if you had killed them normally. Since using a ship also don’t consume food, it’s all about roaming around the seas in every area killing every monsters, then waiting until new ones pop up and so on until you get more XP, more Gold, and basically get a stronger character.

The downside is actually getting the ship though. I am actually still needing a ship in the Aftermath Era, as you’re stuck to appear in North America there, but I actually just can’t seem to find one which is getting incredibly annoying. Also there are so many monsters who appeared on adjavent unaccessible islands that I’m starting to wonder if I don’t have reached some monster cap limit which means a ship can’t appear now and I’d be screwed. I hope not, but this is still annoying.

But then “annoying” would probably summs up Ultima II pretty well. I do feel the game is mired by design mistakes, and that on the whole it’s very much a step back from Ultima I.

Meh.

2 Comments

  1. Dungy said,

    August 5, 2010 at 4:24 pm

    If i remember correctly, I also could not get boats to spawn in the aftermath. I think that is as intended. Try stealing a plane and flying through the timegate to the aftermath. Worked for me.

  2. Sergorn said,

    August 5, 2010 at 5:17 pm

    Aye I did it with the Plane method in the end. Boats do spawn in the aftermath, I think you just need to get extra lucky to get one when you first come there since usually all monsters will spawn on adjacent isles you can’t access, which means you can’t kill the monsters and spawn new ones.


Leave a Reply

